Accesso rapido:  

Forum: Music discussion

Topic: making a playlist....

Questo argomento è obsoleto e potrebbe contenere informazioni obsolete o errate.

I'm a amateur bedroom DJ using the Hercules DJ Console and Virtual Dj, just for fun.

But every now and then i record my mixes for a ) listening to them and correcting myself and b) because my friends often listen to them too, and ask for a new mix on a regular basis.

My question to you all is this :

When I'm mixing music and not recording it, everything goes smoothly, a few errors, but in general a rather succesfull mix, at least for my standards... :-) .

But when I'm recording my mix I encounter a few problems : I get a little nervous (no I don't use coffee... :) ) and lose my concentration and more than often the mix fails because I want it to be a good one. Now this is a personal thing( beeing unsure) and I know you can't help me with that, but I encountered a problem which could solve this.

How do you guys decide what tunes to play? I mean, when I'm not recording my mix, I just "go with the flow" and select the music (some by heart, some even random), and while it isn't all that pretty, I don't seem to care and afterwards I believe it was a good session. But when I intend to record a mix, I usually try to make a playlist and spend some 20 to 30 minutes of listening to music and selecting the tunes I'm gonna use in my recording. But when I start to mix, most of the time it all fails. Either one of my songs on the playlist doesn't "fit in", or a song just doesn't seem to blend in.

OK, enough om me rambling on.

So do you DJ's all make a playlist BEFORE you mix, or do you just select them "on the fly"?

Tnx for yer thoughts on this...

PS sorry for the long post, was hard for me to describe it...:)

Inviato Wed 08 Jun 05 @ 2:17 pm