Accesso rapido:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: [Beginner] Is VU meter a must have on DJ controller?

Questo argomento è obsoleto e potrebbe contenere informazioni obsolete o errate.

Well, I am just starting out to DJ and I have done a bunch of researches online to find the best DJ controller that suites my style... in my budget too. Well luckily I found it but just as soon as that I realized that the controller I was going for has no built in LED VU meter / Volume meter (Idk what is the difference tho). From what I understand the meter is quite important to make sure your mixes aren't clipping or distort. I am just wondering if the meter is a must have? Since it is a controller I would still have to use it with my laptop anyways and I can still look at the meter using VirtualDJ with my laptop, is that correct? Since I really like the features on the controller, is the absence of meter going to be a deal breaker? I am totally new to DJ and would love to have some advice, thanks!

Inviato Mon 01 Jan 18 @ 1:11 pm
It's nice to have, but it's not 100% essential if (as you said) you're using VDJ's on-screen mixer.

Also, VDJ by default sets the gain of each track automatically, so they should never be too loud. There's also a built in limiter in VDJ that prevents things getting out of control.

Inviato Mon 01 Jan 18 @ 1:51 pm
Yeah I did notice the limiter on the VDJ you mentioned which will definitely comes in handy for avoiding clipping, I guess I might just go with the 4 channel controller that I like, thank you!

Inviato Mon 01 Jan 18 @ 1:59 pm
Come on then, tell us - which controller?

Inviato Mon 01 Jan 18 @ 2:50 pm
Its a quite old controller that comes out around 4 years ago - Epsilon Quad-Mix.
I'm gonna list down some pros and cons of this controller.

Pros:
I found it costs around $190. (Quite affordable for an entry level DJ)
The controller has two colors, either black or white. (This is not too important)