Accesso rapido:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Technical Support

Topic: Akai MPK Mk2 Custom Mappings affecting both decks.. Mapping Issue or Software Issue?
Hi,

I am new to VDJ and DJing as a whole. VDJ seemed very intuitive at the start, however these XML files are a bit much to wrap my head around. At the core I am trying to figure out if I am dealing with a software issue, or if I need to commit to making an entire custom XML file. Here's the details...

I have an old AKAI MPK Mini Mk 2 that I intend to use to control the decks.

I am working on the custom mappings starting with play_pause.

I set one pad to be leftdeck & play_pause
I set the other pad to be rightdeck & play_pause

I test the left pad and the left deck plays as expected
I test the right pad and instead the left deck plays. Additionally, the song on the right deck is changed to the song on the left deck and also starts playing?

Here is a link to a video depicting the behavior: https://imgur.com/dzU4HzD

My custom mapping xml contains the following:

<mapper device="SIMPLE_MIDI_8209_1813" version="850" date="2023-08-01">
<map value="0-BUTTON48" action="leftdeck & play_pause"/>
<map value="0-BUTTON44" action="rightdeck & play_pause"/>
<map value="0-SLIDER5" action="rightdeck & level"/>
</mapper>

It seems pretty barebones compared to what others are posting for their XML files. I don't mind flesing out the file but would like to know that that is the issue before delving into that. It seems that as i continue with the custom mappings, the XML file will fill itself in, right?

So i continued on to mapping volume controls and a similar issue occured, where mapping "rightdeck & level" resulted in the levels of both decks being affected when knob is turned.

Additionally, the play_pause mappings began to function as "reverse" pads. Reversing the playback upon pad press, instead of pausing it.

Here is a video: https://imgur.com/rVTAgQd