Accesso rapido:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Type of controller/mixer with VDJ

Questo argomento è obsoleto e potrebbe contenere informazioni obsolete o errate.

Hi
I am not an expert and i need to clear up all my doubts. I use my laptop as the only music source with virtual dj to mix my music. In case I would like to buy a controller, which one shall I go for, USB or analogic one? The experience I would like to have is to load tracks in virtual dj and mix them using either the crossfader or the gainer of each channel on the mixer. Basically whatever I do on the mixer should reflect on Virtual dj. I want a simple mixer, 2 channels + EQ. No console.
Thanks in advance

Inviato Tue 17 Aug 21 @ 1:07 am
If you want the software to reflect what you're ding on your mixer then you need a USB MIDI capable mixer.
Most of the mixers I know that offer MIDI support are not cheap though. Therefore it would be cheaper for you to get a controller instead even if you're not going to use all it's bells and whistles.

Inviato Tue 17 Aug 21 @ 6:38 am
Thank you. Even if 100% does not reflect it is OK too. It is important that I can do what I described in my message. What's the practical difference between a USB mixer and an analogic one? I found cheap quality mixers in the market like numark M2 and M101USB. What's the difference between those when the music source is a laptop on which virtual dj is running?

Inviato Tue 17 Aug 21 @ 9:04 am
locoDogPRO InfinityModeratorMember since 2013
M2 is a 'old fashioned' analogue mixer, there is no communication between the pc & the mixer. To even use this device with vdj you would also need an Audio Interface [or a multichannel soundcard, ... or be creative with audio config, make your basic stereo out from your laptop into a mono source from each deck]