Accesso rapido:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Buying my first setup.
Hi I am looking for some advice for my first setup. I would like to keep my overall budget between 100 and 200 dollars. I understand I won't get much for that price. I was thinking of purchasing the akai lpd8 and rebinding the knobs as an addition to my cheap mixer. On my cheap mixer I would atleast like the 3 knobs for high mid low at minimum. Jogwheels don't have to be anything special, and i will also consider "on the go" mini mixers; i usually sit down when I mix anyway.

The overall goal is to have a physical crossfader, the basic 3 turn knobs on the eq, and some extra knobs to rebind for what I want personally. I feel like this could be a great start but I'm wondering before I do all this if this will even work. I am fairly new to the termonolgy used for hooking things like this up.

So basically, advice on if purchasing the akai lpd8, and something like the numark party mix is compatible or is there something better on the market? I will be using virtual dj on my windows pc along with the mixer and lpd8.

What would you buy? Thanks in advance.

Inviato Sun 26 Feb 23 @ 7:03 pm
get a Numark DJ2GO2 TOUCH

then you will probably have enough money for a home license to go with it

Inviato Sun 26 Feb 23 @ 8:22 pm
i will deff be buying a license soon. The controller you listed only looks like it has 1 knob. I'd like to have atleast the traditional 3

Inviato Sun 26 Feb 23 @ 8:26 pm
djdadPRO InfinityDevelopment ManagerMember since 2005
Consider ..
Hercules inpulse 200 (replace Gain with High EQ)
Hercules Inpulse 300

Inviato Sun 26 Feb 23 @ 8:46 pm
I really like those inpulses. Deff a consideration.

https://reverb.com/item/53123795-numark-mixtrack-3 Would this be compatible with the lpd8? Could I use both the mixtrack 3, the lpd8, and virtual dj together? After over and hour of research I think I really like this deck.