Accesso rapido:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Spring Clean... (VirtualDJ Folder)
God day all. Been a very long time since I've posted here, so dusting off the cobwebs and looking for some advice.

I've been using VDJ since 2005. My History folder goes back to 2008 and contains that playlist and every other one since.

This means my VirtualDJ folder has survived every single upgrade from 2008 to 2023.

I want to have a clear out of everything this is no longer needed. I wanna start afresh (even a clean cache) but I want to retain: History, Playlists, Mappers, Audio Configs, Cloudlists and so on.

Has anybody had a go at this?

I've made a start. I have a clean install of VDJ and a very clean VDJ Folder. I'm looking to see what I should and shouldn't copy across?

By example:

• In the clean VDJ folder, the Drivers folder is empty. but in my regular folder I see DirectML.dll, ml113,dll and vcomp140.dll. Do I need these? Are they now held elsewhere and more up to date?

• There is no VideoSkins folder in the clean folder, but I have one in mine.

• Languages folder: Empty, but in mine I have loads - I won't need anything other than English...

• Guess I can just get rid of the Plugins folder as the Plugins64 folder would be the one now in use.

For the rest, can I just copy over. Is there anything else I need to be aware of?

Thanks in advance,

Roy

Inviato Sun 16 Apr 23 @ 8:21 am
AdionPRO InfinityCTOMember since 2006
The Drivers folder is now always stored in Users AppData, and anyway it will be created automatically when needed.
VideoSkins would be created if you download custom video skins
The default Languages are inside the .exe since v8, so unless you have modifications or custom languages, the folder is not needed anymore.
Plugins64 is indeed the one used for the 64-bit version of VirtualDJ

Playlists/History/Mappers/Definitions can indeed just be copied as needed.

Inviato Sun 16 Apr 23 @ 8:27 am
Thanks for the prompt reply Adion.