Accesso rapido:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: A first run with VDJ

Questo argomento è obsoleto e potrebbe contenere informazioni obsolete o errate.

I've been doing mobile and club work regularly for the past 8 years. The club I work in on Fridays and Saturdays recently put in a Denon MP3 player, and I started using MP3's exclusively. I just bought a new laptop so I could eliminate the weekly burning of MP3 discs and of course so I could take everything on the road. I've tried PCDJ (hate it, hate the company), used Traktor quite a bit (love it), and the reason I went with Virtual DJ is because it had all the features I expect, plus a viable and immediately available option for controlling it with hardware (timecoded discs). I was also impressed by the little Atomix DJ program, which I downloaded a long time ago for an old crappy laptop.

So this past weekend, I gave VDJ a go at my club gig on Friday and at a wedding on Saturday. I'm using it with an Asus M6BNE-based laptop and M-Audio Firewire 1814 interface. I got to the club early at about 8:40pm and set everything up to run with timecode. Everything was hooked up but nothing seemed to be working. Actually, it was that I couldn't get a signal from the disc player on the 1814's inputs, and my laptop power supply was introducing an extremely obnoxious noise into the sound system. I did some troubleshooting for a bit, and 9pm came and went. I had also forgotten my MP3 discs to use as a backup, so I made some calls in an attempt to get them there. During the next half hour, I rebooted several times, switched the firewire from a PCMCIA card to the built-in port, and pulled all the wires out and recabled. In the end, I was running on battery, without timecode.. but I was happy just to have the music playing. The rest of the night went well and even though I didn't feel great about it, the bartenders and bouncers thought the music was great.