Accesso rapido:  

Forum: Music discussion

Topic: From Automatic to Manual

Questo argomento è obsoleto e potrebbe contenere informazioni obsolete o errate.

- No, not talking about cars - LOL

I honestly have a big doubt: getting into DJing world wasn't very hard for me, since I've learn music since 5 years old. But, with all modern technologies I think I've done the wrong "walk" cuz I'm a freelancer and began directly with VDJ (instead of mixing with a turntable, console, etc...)

So I wonder if, for a guy like me who mixes in front of the computer only with the mouse, it's easier or harder to go on turntables, consoles, EQs, using both hands... =S Cuz - even if I've used an EQ once - I don't believe I have much experience. So, IS IT HARDER OR EASIER TO GO FROM AUTOMATIC TO MANUAL MIXING?!

Can u help/advise me please?

Thanks, regards.

Bart, Dj Tolentino

Inviato Mon 09 Apr 07 @ 9:00 pm
IMHO:
I think it's harder to transition from digital to analog. Turntablism, you get more of an ear for sound since you have to pay more attention BPM, Key and transitions.

Also, I think you become more adept in choosing your next 2- 3 songs in your rotation.

Computer DJing, everything is there in front of you already. Your next choice in songs are on a list so you have to know which one is going to hit the WOW factor and keep the crowd moving.

Every weekend, I think about the how my ear for "detection" might be decreased but my ability to cater to the crowd is enhanced because how fast I mix a set.

example: this past wkend, I wanted to get through my hip hop request. I played each song for about 1 min 30 sec before transitioning. Some people got upset that I didn't play the full song but these are the same people that would give me a list of request. The big picture went well and people loved the fact that I hit all the party favorites in a short time. Now I can move on to regular agenda as I planned.

Inviato Tue 10 Apr 07 @ 1:02 am
Thanks fatkatzdj :)